Exploring Europe (Part I): London, United Kingdom (Day 2)

We woke up early the next day so we could get a head start!  Cafe Nero was nearby so we made a brief stop to get something to eat – cake for breakfast! I had an almond tart with a capuccino.  A few other tourists decided to stop by the cafe so I did not feel out of place when I had to pull out our map.
Almond Cake

Capuccino

 

Our first stop was Tower Bridge.  It was a bit humid but the sun was out so I can’t complain.  We were gifted with a sight of the Tower of London on our way to the bridge.  As we made our way towards the bridge, we posed for a few pictures while admiring the surroundings on Thames.  I even managed to get a decent look at the HMS Belfast!

HMS Belfast

The bridge was closed when we arrived due to a fire alarm early in the morning; however, the line wasn’t long and we didn’t have to wait much before the bridge reopened.  Up on the bridge, we got a good view of both sides of the Thames River.  Along each side there were information cards about different bridges around the world and a timeline highlighting events ranging from the world cup to The Beatles.  The best part of the tour was the visit to the engine room near the end – the water pump was my favourite.  
Tower Bridge
We headed towards Borough Market for lunch.  I thought the market would be a lot more crowded but I suspect we visited too early – or perhaps on an off day?  There were only a few stalls open so I was a little let down.  I was expecting a bustling market where one would have to elbow and push their way through.  We did our groceries here!  The oranges here are very good.  I had originally set my heart on trying the fish and chips but got distracted by an ever-growing line at a place called Applebee’s across the street.  We decided to line up and try the wrap that everyone was getting.  We both walked away with a mix of cajun chicken and prawn!  I found the wrap to be a little over-seasoned but do not note I tend to like my food a bit blander than the average person.  We picked up some fresh fruit juice at another stall before walking over to Tate Modern.


Borough Market

Applebee's

A short walk later and we were at Tate Modern.  I thought it was rather nice to be in a museum with a smaller crowd.  Regretably, we wandered around only for a short while.  My favourite floor must have been the dream and poetry floor – I believe it is the second level.  As a fan of Dali and Picasso, I was extremely excited when I saw their artwork – in the same room too!  I won’t post any pictures of art in the museum as the pictures do not do any of them justice.  We also visited the floor with the theme of energy which had a lot of interesting sculptures.  I wish I could have spent a few more hours at this museum and will visit again given the chance.

About Happy Mango

Hi, I'm Happy Mango and this is my blog. Feel free to look around and leave comments!

Posted on 06/24/2014, in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please leave a comment! Thank you!