Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

It’s been a while since I’ve baked at home so I was excited and nervous when I was baking yesterday.  I decided to make your regular chocolate chip cookies this time.  I’ve been spending my afternoons studying and I tend to crave snacks whenever I hit the books so I went with something simple yet filling.

I used the recipe from BigOven, an app I use on my tablet.  It’s called Good n’ Chewy Chocolate Chip cookies and the recipe is really easy to follow.  I didn’t make many adaptations or deviations from the original recipe as I didn’t find it necessary.  I made slight changes due to my family’s preference for desserts that are less sweet.  The cookies turned out great and I’m happy to have a stash of snacks accompany me today.

Just a note for any frequent visitors to my blog: I’ve decided to add in pictures for each step of the process.  I’m not sure if this will aid anyone in their baking, but I’m testing this out.  Thanks for your patience as I know it might take longer to load pages with a lot of pictures!
Baking ingredients

Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

This recipe makes approximately 30 cookies.  This was adapted from BigOven.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of All purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp of baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 3/4 cup of unsalted butter, melted (leave out to cool)
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of castor  sugar
  • 1 tbsp of vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 2 cups of semisweet chocolate chips (I found that 1 cup was enough.  You may want to adjust this portion to your own preference)

Instructions

Note: If you want to have ready to bake cookies, you should follow this recipe until step 8.

  • In a small bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, and salt.
  • Sift the flour mixture

Sifted Flour

  •  In a medium bowl, mix the sugar, brown sugar, and melted butter before beating on medium speed.  Mix until well-blended.
  • Beat in the vanilla, egg, and egg yolk until the mixture turns a light colour and is creamy in texture

Sugar mixture

Adding flour mixture to creamy egg and sugar mixture

  • Slowly beat in the flour mixture until just blended
  • Stir in the chocolate chips

Cookie Dough

Cookie dough with chocolate chips

  • Using food wrap, pour the mixture in before sealing it tight.  This is to keep the moisture in while you chill the dough.  How you bundle the mixture is up to you -I made three small bundles.
  • Chill the dough for approximately 1 hour

Wrapped up

Ready to chill

  • Pre-heat the oven at 325 degrees F and spread out a baking sheet
  • Take the chilled dough.  For this step, you can either cut the dough (I rolled mine up so it’s easy to cut into perfectly shaped cookies) or roll them into small cookie dough balls.  Either is fine but if you follow the former, you will have to watch the time carefully.
  • Bake the cookies for approximately 13-15 minutes.  Be careful when removing from the oven and let the cookies cool off on the cooling rack.  You will have to repeat this step multiple times depending on how many cookies you decide to make at once.

Cookies

Cookies

Baked cookies

How my cookies turned out:

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Hope you enjoyed reading this! I had lots of fun baking again!

Chocolate Chip Cookies

About Happy Mango

Hi, I'm Happy Mango and this is my blog. Feel free to look around and leave comments!

Posted on 07/01/2013, in In the Kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please leave a comment! Thank you!

