A Quick Meal to Warm the Tummy

One of these days when I move away from home and live by myself, cooking might not be as interesting or fun anymore.  There are only 24 hours within a day, but after getting home from an exhausting schedule, you simply just want to lie down and call for take out.  Simple.  Quick.  Why not?

Well, after eating out and depleting my stash of instant noodles, I can safely say it’s not a good idea.  As I’ve always loved to experiment when it comes to cooking, I’ve decided to compile a series of recipes that can help students -like myself- along the way.  I switch between these simple recipes day after day so it won’t get boring and when it does, I simply think of something else to try.

If you’re a meat lover and you can’t give up your daily meat, try this simple yet satisfying dish.

Simple Steak & Onion

I’m a huge fan of onions so if you would rather use another side, please go ahead.  You can probably substitute this with carrots, asparagus, etc!

Ingredients

  • one large sweet onion
  • 4 sliced pieces of angus beef (sliced about 1 cm thick) -defrosted/ready to cook
  • a pinch of salt

Instructions

  1. Peel and wash the large sweet onion
  2. Meanwhile, heat a frying pan on medium heat (around 5) and add a bit of oil
  3. Slice the onion into thin strips before adding it to the pan
  4. Cook the onions until they begin to seem more transparent
  5. Make sure to wash the slices of beef to clear out the blood before adding the slices into the pan with the onions
  6. Flip the slices of beef occasionally for even cooking
  7. Add a pinch of salt and cook until the beef becomes cooked to your preferred level
  8. You can serve this dish with your choice of pasta or rice

Why does cooking have to appear hard?

Dinner is ready!

Note: Likewise, you can remove the onions and add another vegetable.  I ran out of onions and used chopped green onions (in the second picture).  You could also add carrots and potatoes as a side.

About Happy Mango

Hi, I'm Happy Mango and this is my blog. Feel free to look around and leave comments!

Posted on 03/12/2012, in In the Kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. yum! I am doing this today!

Please leave a comment! Thank you!

