Reminiscing About Chinese Cuisine

We had a dinner with everyone in the family this summer and as usual, the course amazed me.  It’s the type of dinner you can socialize to your heart’s content with anyone and everyone in the family over the course of maybe three hours or so.  The food is delicious every time we go to this restaurant.  It’s called Regal 16 and its located in Richmond Hill.

We started off with a crab with Portuguese style sauce.  It’s absolutely mouthwatering and they stuff the shell with freshly cooked crab.  It tends to have a stronger taste compared to most Chinese dishes I’ve had but I enjoy the boldness of the whole dish.  It adds to the typical delicate taste of the other dishes to come.

We had Shark Fin soup.  According to many of my relatives, this restaurant has the best shark fin soup for its price.  They have a separate dish for the ham which you can eat plain with the honey they provide or you can add it to the soup -whichever one you like.

There were some dishes after the soup but I didn’t take pictures of them.  I did remember to take pictures of the fish and one of the desserts they offered.

One of my favourite desserts is the Milk Custard Tart.  There are Egg Custard Tarts that many restaurants offer but I only know few that offer the Milk version.  The best part of the tart is the outer crust which they make with lard.  It sounds very unhealthy -and indeed it is- but I love the texture of the skin.  It really does make or break the milk/egg tarts.

After writing all this I’m starting to feel hungry again.  When you don’t have certain foods at your convenience you tend to miss them; I am missing them sorely.  I guess it goes to show you can never have too much of anything.  It’s just a matter of frequency and variety.

About Happy Mango

Hi, I'm Happy Mango and this is my blog. Feel free to look around and leave comments!

Posted on 09/22/2011, in Food Guide and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I want to convey my love for your generosity supporting those who really need help with this important content. Your real commitment to passing the solution all-around was really powerful and have regularly enabled ladies just like me to attain their pursuits. Your amazing interesting instruction can mean this much a person like me and substantially more to my mates. Many thanks; from each one of us.

  1. Pingback: Restaurant Philippines

Please leave a comment! Thank you!

