Scrumptious Red Velvet Cupcakes

Ever since I had my first red velvet cake at a friend’s birthday party I couldn’t stop thinking about it -that’s how delicious it is.  There had been times in the past when I would browse through the cakes at my local Loblaw and see a red velvet cake.  I had always looked at its bright red colour and shuddered at the thought of trying it out -yes I am an idiot.

So like relationships perhaps the first encounter with the other subject didn’t leave a good impression.  But sometimes we end up getting together after getting to know each other.  And that’s what happened with the red velvet and I.

The brilliance of this whole fiasco is that my friends and I decided to get the Red Velvet cake for my friend’s birthday because it was red; it’s my friend’s favourite colour.  So we cut the cake and handed the pieces around to experimentally taste what this cake was like.  Like me, it seemed as though not everyone had the pleasure of being introduced to this lovely cake.  We all ended up falling in love with the cake and since that fateful day I’ve been itching to try to make one myself.

With only two weeks until I’m back in school, I’ve decided to bake Red Velvet Cupcakes as my second goal in my baking marathon.  They came out great and tasted even better!  At first, I was disappointed with its lack of bright red colour but seeing as I only used an ounce of red food colouring I suppose its to be expected.  Despite its deeper brown colour, they did show a hint of brownish red when I took photos of them.

Red Velvet Cupcake Heaven

So I went a little overboard in my excitement over them.  I ended up making around 36 cupcakes.  I even had to make the last batch of cupcakes bigger because I could not afford any time to bake another batch after it.  Oh well, more cupcakes for me!

The colour of the batter had me scared for the longest 20 minutes of my day because it looked purple and I have to say its not appetizing to look at.  Judge for yourself:

Red Velvet Batter

Regardless of my worries, they came out pretty decently.  They were tender and very moist -especially the larger cupcakes that I made.

Without further ado, here is the recipe I used.  I did end up making a few adjustments.  I also found it made a lot more than it said it would so be careful!  I judged the sizes by the cupcake paper liner sizes (medium cupcake liner = small cupcake & X-large cupcake liner = large cupcake).

RED VELVET CUPCAKES

I adapted the recipe from Carrot Top Mom.

Cupcake Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 ounce red food coloring
  • 4 teaspoons Vanilla Extract

Cream Cheese Frosting 

Note: Let the frosting sit in the refrigerator for about 5 minutes before frosting.  It starts getting runny when it hits room temperature.

  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 14 ounces confectioners’ sugar

Steps:

Cupcakes:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Mix flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt in medium bowl with a whisk and set aside.
  3. Beat butter and sugar in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed 5 minutes or until light and fluffy.
  4. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Mix in sour cream, milk, food color and vanilla.
  5. Gradually beat in flour mixture on low speed until just blended. Do not overbeat.
  6. Spoon batter into 24 paper-lined muffin cups, filling each cup 2/3 full.
  7. Bake 18 to 22 minutes or until toothpick inserted into cupcake comes out clean.  Cool in pans on wire rack at least 5 minutes. Remove from pans; cool completely.
Frosting:
  1. Beat cold cream cheese, butter, sour cream and Vanilla Extract in large bowl until light and fluffy. Scrape bowl, and beat again. Gradually beat in confectioners’ sugar until smooth. Once smooth, turn beaters to high and whip for 5 minutes. (You may need additional powdered sugar to thicken, especially if you are wanting to pile the frosting).
  2. Frost the cupcakes generously, and serve!
VOILA!
I had loads of fun making these.  The frosting is to die for!  I didn’t use the full 16 ounces of confectioner’s sugar because of the complaints over the last frosting I made for my family.  They aren’t fans of frosting and I received quite the frown today when I said “Do you want frosting on yours?”  I have to say, I couldn’t have done better myself -the frown, I mean.
It really was scrumptious and I’m not lying.  Red Velvet anything will taste good!  Yes, I’m a newly converted fan.  I am hoping to make a Red Velvet cake in the future but the thought of another one of those frowns makes me want to reconsider.  If anyone has a suggestion for a Red Velvet Cake recipe, do send me an email!
About Happy Mango

Hi, I'm Happy Mango and this is my blog. Feel free to look around and leave comments!

Posted on 08/25/2011, in In the Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please leave a comment! Thank you!

