Tasty Chocolate Whoopie Pies

With summer coming to an end in around 3 weeks I’ve decided to bake as much as possible!  So I made a list of all the different things I want to make by the end of this summer and Whoopie Pies came out first on my list.

My first time eating a whoopie pie was around half a year ago in London when Starbucks had a promotion.  I believe it was something like “buy any size drink and get a free petite treat”.  I’m a big Starbucks fan so I ended up trying the red velvet whoopie pie.  Needless to say, it was delicious and I had a hard time walking into Starbucks and walking out without one of these treats.

So here I am half a year later making these whoopie pies except I decided to make chocolate whoopie pies.  I decided it might be best to try something simpler.  I found the recipe through FoodGawker which my friend sent me.  I ended up surfing the site for over an hour!  I came upon this recipe and went all gung-ho and immediately added it to my “to do” list.

My whoopie pies came out to be somewhat disappointing in appearance (probably due to my own lack of patience in measuring the sizes) but the taste made up for its unprofessional appearance!  Let me just say -the cream was DELICIOUS!  Even my parents complimented the cream of the whoopie pie so it can definitely win over the most -well maybe not the most but close enough -cream hating parents.  Every time cream is involved, I will see frowns.  And frowns never amount to anything good so turning that frown into a smile was definitely satisfying for me.

Chocolate Whoopie Pie

Chocolate Whoopie Pies

My pies didn’t come out in a perfect circular shape -sad- so I was left disappointed at first when they came out of the oven.  But the cream will blow you out of the water!  The cream is actually going to turn out in a light caramel colour so don’t be alarmed when you add the caramel and vanilla to find your cream is no longer white.

I made a few adjustments to the recipe.  For starters, I used a little less butter in the cream recipe because it was just too much.  The butter became too dominant after a while so I cut it down by almost half.  I ended up using a little more than half but use your judgement when making it.  It’s your call.

If you’re interested in making your own whoopie pie, I would recommend this recipe.  It’s a good recipe for starters.

Chocolate Whoopie Pie with Salted Caramel Cream

This recipe was adapted from Whisk Kid.  

Total time: 2 hours (be prepared! the sauce takes a while)

Chocolate “Cookies”

7/8 c (124 g) flour
3/8 c (34 g) cocoa powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
4 Tbls (57 g) butter, softened
1/4 c (50 g) sugar
1/4 c (36 g) brown sugar
1 egg yolk
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/2 c (118 ml) milk

1. Preheat your oven to 350F and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper. Set aside.

2. Place the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt in a small bowl. Whisk well to combine and set aside.

3. In a medium-sized bowl, beat the butter until lightened, about one minute (it took me around 2 minutes). Add the sugars and beat until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the yolk and vanilla and beat to combine, scraping down the sides of the bowl when necessary.

[Note: I found scraping down the sides made the process go a lot faster]

4. Pour in 1/3 of the dry mixture and mix on low speed until just combined. Scrape down the bowl and add half of the milk, mixing just to combine. Continue alternating, ending with 1/3 of the dry ingredients.

5. Using a small spoon or a 1/2 tablespoon sized spoon, drop onto the baking sheet spacing them about 2 inches apart.

6. Bake 12 minutes until the top springs back when pressed.

7. Cool completely on pans for an hour.  Make sure to place the cookies down separately and on a flat surface.

Salted Caramel Swiss Meringue Buttercream

1/2 c (100 g) sugar, divided
2 Tbsp water
40ml heavy cream (35%)
2 egg whites
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 c (118 g) butter, softened
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1. Put 1/4 cup (50 grams) of sugar and the water in saucepan over medium-high heat for approximately 10 minutes.

2. Wait until the sugar reaches an amber color. Remove the pan from the heat and pour in the cream, whisking immediately as it will begin to bubble. Set aside to cool.

3. Place a pan of water over medium-low heat and bring to a simmer. Put a medium-sized heatproof bowl over the top (do not let it touch the water) and pour the remaining 1/4 cup (50 grams) of sugar, egg whites and salt into it.

4. Whisking constantly, cook until the sugar has dissolved then remove from the heat.

5. Whip on high speed until a stiff meringue forms. This takes approximately 5 minutes after switching to high speed.

6. Reduce the speed to medium and begin adding the butter in tablespoon-size pats, waiting until each has been fully incorporated before adding the next, about ten seconds.

7. When all of the butter has been added, raise the speed to high and whip until the frosting is light and fluffy. Add the cooled caramel and vanilla, then whip to combine.

8. Fill cooled cookies.

VOILA!

Whoopie Pie Pile

About Happy Mango

Hi, I'm Happy Mango and this is my blog. Feel free to look around and leave comments!

Posted on 08/17/2011, in In the Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awesome blog, it’s just like a game for me! It’s so infomative and usefull, thanks a lot! If you post more of this great stuff, I’ll visit your blog again!

Please leave a comment! Thank you!

