Light Summer Dessert: Strawberry Torte

I found this lovely recipe about a week ago on AllRecipes and I finally tried it out!

I had convinced myself to stop making any dessert that slightly resembles a cheesecake because some of my family members don’t like the taste.  Unfortunately, as soon as I stumbled upon a picture of a Strawberry Torte, I couldn’t resist -what a weak will.  I even stalled myself by reading the reviews of the recipe I found to convince myself not to make it at all costs.  Needless to say, I failed and ended up making it anyways.

The torte recipe was heavily praised for its lightness and I found myself thinking it would be perfect to offset the fact it used cream cheese.

I did end up changing a few things around so it suited my family’s taste a bit more.  I think this recipe could be improvised in more ways than one and its a great recipe to get yourself started off on.

Here’s what it ended up looking like after I finished decorating and letting the strawberry torte set for 24 hours.

Strawberry Torte

Strawberry Torte

If you ever need to make a quick summer dessert to bring to a party or for a guest, I would recommend this.  It’s quick, easy, and tastes great!  It’s presentation is a huge plus as well.  The cake decoration with the strawberries is entirely up to you and personally, I think its fun to make your own designs.

I made quite a few adjustments to this recipe mainly because of personal preference.  I used less cream cheese (8 ounces instead of 11 ounces) but I kept the amount of whipping cream the same.  I ended up using one package of 7 oz ladyfingers that I purchased at my local Nofrills.  Instead of using frozen strawberries, I used fresh strawberries.  Please make sure the strawberries are not overly ripe because it will be hard to cut and decorate with.

STRAWBERRY TORTE RECIPE

Recipe adapted from AllRecipe !

I used an 8 inch pan (can also use 9 inch).

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces cream cheese, softened
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 pint heavy whipping cream
  • 1 package of 7 oz ladyfinger cookies
  • 1 box of strawberries (2 boxes to be safe if you want to decorate the cake)

Directions

  1. Whip cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla together.
  2. In a separate bowl beat whipping cream until stiff peaks form.
  3. Fold whipped cream into cream cheese mixture.
  4. Cut the ladyfingers in half (make sure you cut it perfectly so it can stand up on its own).
  5. Arrange ladyfingers around sides and bottom of the 8 or 9 inch springform pan, standing ladyfingers up around the pan.
  6. Pour 1/2 of the filling into the pan, then place a layer of ladyfingers on top of filling.
  7. Place another layer of thinly sliced strawberries (fresh) on top of the lady finger layer.
  8. Pour remaining filling over ladyfingers.
  9. Refrigerate for 24 hours before decorating and serving.
STRAWBERRY ROSES
If you’re interested in making strawberry roses, I found a helpful video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pnxVuOlbyzg 
Strawberry Roses

Strawberry Roses

About Happy Mango

Hi, I'm Happy Mango and this is my blog. Feel free to look around and leave comments!

Posted on 08/07/2011, in In the Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please leave a comment! Thank you!

