Yummy Crêpes!

I have been pretty obsessed with french desserts and I was so disappointed when I couldn’t find golden castor sugar -apparently they don’t sell it here.  A couple of weeks ago I received a lot of chocolate from my grandparents -in the form of a five pack 100 g Swiss chocolate! -and its been sitting in a lonely corner of the kitchen since then.  In the end I ended up deciding to make chocolate sauce so I made  Crêpes to go with it.

Anyways so I searched up french Crêpes and came across this site: http://www.videojug.com/film/how-to-make-french-crepes

I used this recipe to make my Crêpes and they turned out beautifully.  I did make a few adjustments.  First, I halved the recipe because 30 Crêpes would be a bit too much for a family of four.  Next, my family doesn’t like lemons or lemon-flavoured foods so I only used the lemon zest of 1 lemon.  Overall, they loved the Crêpes and the lemon flavour really added life to the whole dessert.

For the chocolate sauce, I made a few adjustments to the recipe I found at: http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2005/12/the-best-chocol/ Please take a look below for the recipe I used.  I substituted corn syrup with honey-non-pasturized honey.  I let it sit for about 1hr 30 minutes and the consistency was just right.  There was a lot left over so I put it in the fridge.

Chocolate Sauce

1/2 cup milk (125 ML)
1/4 cup sugar (50 G)
1/4 cup honey (80 G)
3/4 cup cocoa (37.5 G)
1 ounce chocolate, chopped (27.5 G)

1. Whisk together milk, sugar, honey, cocoa powder
2. bring to a boil over medium heat
3. stir until melted
4. remove from heat
5. let sauce stand for a few hours before serving, give it time to thicken

Crepe stuffed with a handful of strawberries and two scoops of ice cream

Everything turned out well and my family enjoyed the the dessert.  I cut about a cup of strawberries to use.  The strawberries were already ripe and sweet.  I did end up stuffing my crepe with heaps of chocolate and strawberry ice cream -with a handful of strawberries -and it ended up practically exploding but I like my crepes like that.  I ended up making only 6 crepes but they were huge so be careful how big you want them.  If you are looking to stuff it with a lot of ingredients I do suggest you make your crepes a bit bigger than the recipe recommends.

Well, I’m off to scour the internet for more mouth watering desserts!

About Happy Mango

Hi, I'm Happy Mango and this is my blog. Feel free to look around and leave comments!

Posted on 07/17/2011, in In the Kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Please leave a comment! Thank you!

